Handy Tips for Fussy Eaters #3

It’s no secret that my boys put up a bit of a fuss at dinner sometimes. It’s really hard to find a meal that both of them will like. Usually it’s one or the other complaining about something!

I’m not soft on them by any means. I’m giving them food to help them for life, and it’s no secret that eating chicken nuggets every night ain’t the best nutrition for a growing body. So they can eat what I put in front of them, or go to bed. I’m not going to become a short order cook for them (been there, done that).

It does make things easier though, to figure out what works for your kids. What often works for mine is a “help yourself” meal. The boys seem to like the control they have to choose their own food. If we have lamb cutlets, potato and salad, I’ll try to make things ‘light’ by letting them serve their own cutlets (show me a kid who doesn’t love a pair of tongs) and then asking “what will you choose from the salad bowl tonight?” They will generally choose a few pieces of the same item (for Number One Son it’s a couple of spinach leaves, for Number Two Son it’s carrots). But as long as something good is going in that little body, I’m happy. You have to choose your battles, yes?

Image

One meal they both love is tacos. They love all the little bowls of food they can choose from, and over time they have progressed from “mince and cheese” to adding grated carrots, a sliver of tomato and even lettuce. Yeeha!

And then we argue over whether it’s hard or soft tacos. Thank God for the mixed box… 😉

Mostly we stick to the traditional beef mince filling, but there’s a cool Beer-Marinated Chicken Taco recipe over here, if you happened to luck out with a more adventurous kind of kid…

3 thoughts on “Handy Tips for Fussy Eaters #3

  1. I have 4 kids and I was thrilled when the hard and soft mixed box appeared on the supermarket shelf. I no longer have to toss a coin and see the disappointed face of the child who lost the toss. Now it’s smiles all round!!! And even though I prefer the soft tacos, I never fixed the toss I promise!!
    I would love you to write about how you decide what to have for dinner when one wants one thing and one wants another. I make one meal and expect them all to eat it. Do you do the same or have a set day where each child decides what they would like?

Leave a Reply

