Handy Tips for Fussy Eaters #5

Image

I love hearing stories from other mums about dinnertime issues. For one, it makes me feel a lot better about my own picky eaters; for another, they often have some really creative ways of dealing with their kids and food.

My own boys love to have “strong competitions” with their dad when they’ve eaten a vegetable. Obviously, the more vegetables they’ve consumed, the more likely Dad is to be defeated. 😉

But I particularly love the approach of one mother I’ve come across. (Sorry, I haven’t had nearly as much sleep over the past six years as I would need in order to remember this mum’s name!) She urged me to take the dinnertime pressure off myself and my sons. She knew that kids need to be very familiar with a food before they will eat it. So she presented a new food to her child with varying degrees of expectation…

The first few times she served a new food to her child she told him not to eat it. (Huh?) Instead, she asked him simply to touch it. They would talk about how it felt, whether it was hard or squishy, the colour, the size of it. The next few times she would ask him to give the new food a kiss. (Nawwwwww…) Next time, to put it in his mouth, without chewing, just to feel it in there. I guess you can guess how this story ends…

I’m not sure I quite have the patience for this. I was raised in a “stay at the table until your finish your plate” household. But I am trying to find a balance, and I think taking the pressure off is a nice place to start.

Do you have the patience to try this method with your kids?

Photo credit: Bob.Fornal / Foter.com / CC BY-NC-SA

Leave a Reply

